Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index
Submit a proposal View Current Proposals

Penn State students are assessed a Student Activity Fee (SAF) as part of their semester bill. This translates into approximately $100,000 annually at Penn State York. Every dollar of the income generated remains at the campus to support a wide array of programs and activities.

The purpose is to improve the overall quality of the campus experience for students; to increase opportunities for student involvement in the educational process, particularly the out-of-class experience; and to enhance appropriate out-of-class services and programs based on identified student needs.

The primary goals are to improve curricular opportunities; improve student activities; provide specialized services and programs for diverse populations; enrich the campus environment and encourage the involvement of students, thereby promoting academic achievement and the development of student potential.

Categories eligible for funding are:

  • Campus Activities
  • Equipment
  • Facilities
  • Program Support
  • Recreation
  • Diverse Populations and Issues
  • Selected Support Services
  • Travel

All students, faculty, and staff are eligible to submit proposals for funding from the Student Activity Fee. The allocation committee (comprised of ten students, two staff, and one faculty member) meets bi-weekly throughout the school year to review proposals. Proposals that are submitted within two days of the SAF committee meeting will be considered at the next meeting. Proposals submitted within one day or less may not be addressed until the following meeting..

Important Documents and Links Meeting Minutes and Outcomes Who is the Student Activity Fee Committee?

Faculty and Staff Members:

  • Patrick Tanner
  • Bob Bartell
  • Joe Royer

Student Members:

  • Alen Adilov
  • Gabrielle Bahou
  • BJ Dabler
  • Sacha Guiteao
  • Dillon Ketterman
  • Ashley Koller
  • Eros Linarez
  • Khanh Nguyen
  • Christopher Vazquez

Spring 2014 Meeting Dates (MCB 29, 12:00–1:00 p.m.):

  • January 17
  • January 31
  • February 14
  • February 28
  • March 7
  • March 21
  • April 4
  • April 18

Contact Patrick Tanner or Alen Adilov, co-chairs.