Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

Finalists Selected for Teaching Award

3/6/2008 —

Finalists have now been chosen for the 2008 James H. Burness Award for Excellence in Teaching.  Each year the Teaching Award Committee of the Penn State York Campus Senate seeks nominations of faculty for this honor. This award is given annually to recognize any aspect of excellent instruction (lectures, demonstrations, classroom activities, handling of discussions, individual attention, laboratory instruction, etc.) that contributes to the academic quality at Penn State York. The purpose of the award is to recognize excellence in instruction, not to identify the “most popular” faculty member.

All faculty are eligible to be nominated except for recipients of the award in the past four years: Fred Haag and Walter Arnold (2003), Deirdre Folkers (2004), Noel Sloboda and H. Robert Kaufhold (2005), Bruce Babcock and Heidi Deren (2006).

Two awards will be given: one to a full-time faculty member and one to a part-time faculty member. Do not worry if you are unsure whether a faculty member is full-time or part-time. The Teaching Award Committee will divide the nominations accordingly.

This nomination form is for faculty who are teaching in fall 2007 and / or spring 2008.

The award recipient will be chosen from this list – faculty, staff, and students are now invited to make additional comments regarding these candidates:

Full-time Finalists:

Karl Knapp
Abdul Siddiqui
Kip Trout

Part-time Finalists

Gene Ellis
Dennis Jones

Please make your nominations online and provide a brief paragraph explaining what you think this faculty member has done to merit an award for excellence in instruction. The campus believes this award is a good way to say “thank you” to faculty members who are doing an excellent job and we hope you do, too.

Thank you for your response and participation in the selection process. Please submit your comments online by Sunday, March 23, 2008.

Email this story to a friend Facebook Twitter